Educating the Next Generation

Educating the Next Generation of Physicians

A strategic mission of Hackensack Meridian Health is to develop into a major academic center. Hackensack Meridian Health and Seton Hall University are in a unique position to partner in the development of an innovative New Jersey-based health education program to address the upcoming physician shortage. This is why they are moving forward to establish a new, four-year school of medicine. Both organizations believe their academic reputations, combined with clinical expertise, will create an opportunity to form New Jersey’s first private school of medicine that will no doubt become one of the premier schools in the nation. This new school will be located on the campus of the former Hoffmann-La Roche Inc. in Nutley and Clifton, NJ. The 25-year-lease of the campus began in early October 2016.

The proposed school of medicine would be dedicated to achieving the following goals: educational excellence; cutting-edge research; highest-quality clinical care; meaningful integration; and the advancement of New Jersey medical and health sciences educational imperatives. Seton Hall University will bring its College of Nursing and its School of Health and Medical Sciences, which includes its Physician Assistant Program, Athletic Training, Occupational Therapy, Physical Therapy, Speech and Language Pathology, Masters in Health Administration and a Ph.D. in Health Sciences (research) to this new health sciences campus. This will create an opportunity to integrate the education and training of these multiple disciplines into a single classroom setting – a truly innovative approach that will mirror how health care will be delivered in the future.

The new school of medicine will bring together the best of both worlds: a state-of-the-art, one-of-a-kind campus, coupled with Hackensack Meridian Health’s flourishing research partnership with Georgetown University. This will create a world-class network of academic, research and clinical expertise to educate the next generation of physicians. Students will be trained within New Jersey on Hackensack Meridian Health campuses, and retention programs will be developed to embed the physicians within the Network.

The development of a differentially trained and oriented physician workforce by two leading institutions will deliver a very nationally competitive health science complex to the state of New Jersey. Early last year, Bonita Stanton, M.D., a nationally recognized expert on pediatric medicine, was also welcomed as the founding dean of the Seton Hall – Hackensack Meridian School of Medicine.
Seton Hall – Hackensack Meridian School of Medicine will be governed by a Board of Trustees with equal representation by Seton Hall University and Hackensack Meridian Health in terms of the voting power and number and types of individuals appointed by, and with representation meeting the requirements of the Liaison Committee on Medical Education. The medical school Board of Trustees will be responsible for overseeing and making recommendations regarding the strategies, policies and finances of the medical school.

The Board of Trustees are:
Joseph Simunovich, Chairman
Edward E. Barr
Linda Bowden
Eun-Sook “Lucy” Cho-Lee, M.D.
Mary Ann Christopher
James E. Collins
John J. Degnan
Francis J. Hager
Gordon N. Litwin
Robert O’Hara
Monsignor Joseph Reilly
Daniel E. Straus
John F. Swift
John F. Williams, M.D.
Bonita F. Stanton, M.D., Ex Officio Member
Seton Hall-Hackensack Meridian School of Medicine Founding Chairs

“As we move toward our first class of students, I see before me a team of consummate experts, assembled, poised and ready to fundamentally change the way health care is both taught and delivered in the United States,” said Dr. Bonita Stanton, founding dean of the Seton Hall – Hackensack Meridian School of Medicine. “I am thrilled by their medical expertise and moved by their demonstrated commitment to healing. But most of all, I look forward to building a new paradigm in medical education with our founding chairs.”

The newly appointed chairs are:
Brian Eric Benson, M.D.
Chair, Department of Otolaryngology

Stephen R. Colen, M.D., DDS
Chair, Department of Plastic and Reconstructive Surgery

Joseph Feldman, M.D., FACEP
Chair, Department of Emergency Medicine

Andre Goy, M.D.
Chair, Department of Oncology

Laurie Jacobs, M.D., FACP, AGSF
Chair, Internal Medicine

Steven W. Kairys, M.D.
Chair, Department of Pediatrics

Martin S. Karpeh Jr., M.D.
Chair, Department of Surgery

Michael Aloysius Kelly, M.D.
Chair, Department of Orthopedic Surgery

Ciaran M. Mannion, M.D.
Chair, Department of Pathology

Mark Gorden Martens, M.D., FACOG
Chair, Department of Obstetrics & Gynecology

Joseph Parrillo, M.D.
Chair, Department of Cardiology

Sean Donovan Pierce, M.D.
Chair, Department of Radiology

Patrick Roth, M.D.
Chair, Department of Neurosurgery

Michael Eric Rosenberg, M.D.
Chair, Department of Ophthalmology

Mark Dennis Schlesinger, M.D.
Chair, Department of Anesthesiology

Roman Solhkhah, M.D.
Chair, Department of Psychiatry and Behavioral Health

Michael D. Stifelman, M.D.
Chair, Department of Urology

Florian P Thomas, M.D., MA, Ph.D., MS
Chair, Department of Neurology

Robin O. Winter, M.D., MMM
Chair, Department of Family Medicine